Introduction

20 06 2010

Hello! Welcome to “Crowd Noise,” a new blog.  I am a lefty feminist anti-racist activist and a graduate student worker in history.  I plan to write about history, academia, politics, activism, and whatever else strikes my fancy.  We’ll become better acquainted in the coming months, I’m sure.

I’ve spent far too much time today setting up a blogroll and tweaking the header image.  Did you know that if you do a google image search for “crowd” or even for “diverse crowd” you turn up a LOT of photos of crowds that look like they are all or almost all white people? One photo I found had a wonderfully diverse mix of races and ethnicities but it was all men. I did find a few other non-uniform crowds but the photos were not the size I needed.  So I finally gave up and settled for a photo of a crowd that is too blurry for me to tell whether there are any people of color/non-white people in it.  Not ideal, but I’ll be on the lookout for a better image.

Because I don’t have time for a proper post right now, I’d like to share links to two bloggers whose work I especially enjoy:

Cara’s Gratuitous Beatles Blogging at The Curvature is fun to read and listen to.

Mike the Mad Biologist is the best aggregator of interesting links I know of: his link collections are not to be missed.

Actions

Information




